Sunday, 23 August 2015

Who’s on the National list

Most of the 29 National List MPs appointed to Parliament are experienced politicians with a few newcomers.

New entrants from the UNP include ex-Chairman of the UNP Malik Samarawickrema, IT Prof Ashubodha Marasinghe, Dr A.R.A. Hafees, Constitutional lawyer Jayampathi Wickremaratne, Attorney-at-Law M.H.M. Salman, ex-minister of NorthWestern Provincial Council M.H.M. Navavi and trade unionist Srinal De Mel.
The UPFA National List mostly comprises senior politicians including several who contested and lost with the only newcomer to Parliament being former Chairman of the Sri Lanka Foundation Institute, Malith Jayatilleke.

The JVP ‘s National List nominees are former Auditor General Sarath Chandrasiri Mayadunne and Sunil Handunnetti who contested and lost in the Matara District
The TNA is yet to name its two National List members.

JVP – 2
Sarath Chandrasiri Mayadunne and
Sunil Handunneththi
 UNP – 13
Malik Samarawickrama, Karu Jayasooriya, D.M. Swaminathan, Anoma Gamage, Thilak Janaka Marapana, Chandrajith Ashubodha Marasinghe, Abdul Rauff Abdul Hafees, Mohamed Hafeel Mohamed Salman, Athuraliye Rathana Thera,
Jayampathi Wickramaratne, Sirinal De Mel, M.K.D.S. Gunawardhane Mohamed Haneefa, Mohamed Navavi

UPFA – 12
A.H.M. Fowzie,
Faizer Musthafa, Angajan
Alim Muhammad Hisbullah,
Malith Jayathilake, Lakshman Yapa Abeywardene,
Vijith Wijayamuni Zoysa,
S.B. Dissanayake, Thilanga
Sumathipala and Dilan Perera